Luggage Tags

IMG_2184[1]

Do I get eco points for modifying and reusing luggage tags I already own and use, instead of throwing them away and buying new ones?

I’m going on vacation to Taiwan for two weeks (AMAZING vacation spot, btw). I got out my luggage, packed, and looked at my luggage tags. Eww.

I’d gotten (3) free luggage tags from some organization or other almost 10 years ago, and I’ve been using them ever since. I can’t bear the thought of spending the $3-10/ea on new tags (and I hate the free paper ones from the airlines), so I did what I do best: made do with what I had at home.

IMG_2186[1]

What I did:

  • Covered the organization logo/name printed on the luggage tag backs with polka dot fabric tape (I’d picked it up on clearance a while ago, $1.50/8ft roll)
  • Added a coordinating scrap of fabric out of my scraps collection (these were cut offs from when I made neck warmers)
  • Typed up the address inserts in Word, printed them, cut them out, and rubber stamped them

Total material cost not including the computer paper and ink for the inserts: about 7 cents of fabric tape per luggage tag!

Looking at my refurbed luggage tags just makes me happy. It barely cost me a thing, they’ve been prettified, and BONUS, there’s no mistaking my luggage in the baggage claim!

 

Leave a Reply

