Comfiest DIY Fitbit One Wristband Bracelet Ever

100_1455
I just made wristbands for my Fitbit One while watching my first episodes of Burn Notice on Netflix.

Unlike the Flex or Charge, the One’s not really made to be worn on the wrist. It came with a wristband for use during sleep tracking, but I’ve always hated the velcro on it — it catches on clothing and blankets. I looked online, but I didn’t see any wristbands for the One that looked both secure and comfortable to wear. So, I made my own.

This wristband design can be modified to suit other small objects as well, like a house key or something.

Design priorities: 1) impossible for the Fitbit to accidentally fall out, 2) comfortable, and 3) cheap to make

I took old, clean, trouser socks (those hated pairs that migrate to the very bottom of the sock drawer after having been worn only once or twice…if I remember correctly, the socks I used committed the fatal crime of sliding down on my feet), cut them apart, and hand sewed them up. Each trouser sock made 2 Fitbit One wristbands.

The socks I used were spandex stretchy but felt cloth-like, and raw cut edges did not unravel. Socks, tights, or leggings of similar material would all work for this project.

Stuff needed:100_1454

  • pair of scissors
  • thread
  • needle
  • an unwanted, clean sock

Step 1: Cut the toes and the cuff off the sock.

Photo Jun 22, 8 55 46 AM
Step 2

Step 2: Cut a 4.5″ long tube section of the sock.

Photo Jun 22, 8 58 49 AM
Step 3

Step 3: Fold the tube in half so that it’s still a tube, but the walls of the tube are 2-layers thick.

Photo Jun 22, 8 59 56 AM
Step 4

Step 4: Fold the tube in half again, the same way as in step 3.

Photo Jun 22, 9 00 42 AM
Step 5

Step 5: Whipstitch around the wristband on the raw edge side, including all layers. Leave a 1-inch opening for the Fitbit to be inserted, but whipstitch the 3 layers in front of the 1-inch opening.

Photo Jun 22, 9 02 02 AM
Step 6

Step 6: Insert Fitbit.

Tip: Fitbit is most secure if it’s tucked behind the 2 inner layers of the wristband. Plus, with a thin sock like mine, the display is *just barely* viewable through the single outer layer of fabric.

Photo Jun 22, 9 03 04 AM

Voila! A comfortable, cheap wristband that securely holds the Fitbit One. It’s breathable, stretchy, doesn’t catch on anything, lightweight, washes well, keeps the Fitbit safely confined, and I made it out of stuff I already had, I didn’t buy anything for it.

I kept my wristbands simple because I didn’t really care what they look like, I plan to wear them while sleeping. Whipstitching with colored thread was the quickest and simplest way to both construct the wristbands and decorate at the same time.

I could have done invisible stitching, stitched some sort of decorative design on the band, used a sock with a fun pattern on it, sewn on beads or sequins or ribbons, etc etc etc. The possibilities are endless for the look of the wristband!

4 thoughts on “Comfiest DIY Fitbit One Wristband Bracelet Ever

  1. I have been looking for something DIY for my zip for around my ankle and this is awesome. I will adjust the pocket size. I have a bunch of old long sleeve t-shirts that I could repurpose for this. THANK YOU!!!

    Like

  2. Thank you; this is exactly what I needed!! I’ve gone through 2 fitbit bands and they have always been so uncomfortable. I also had a slight rash from my last one, and I wear a watch at work, and it looks terrible with my fitbit. This is perfect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

